North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO).

The North Atlantic Treaty Organisation was formed by the 1949 North Atlantic Treaty as an intergovernmental military alliance between states in both Europe and North America. Emerging as a Western pact of collective mutual defence in the context of the Cold War, NATO counts three permanent members of the UN Security Council (France, United Kingdom, and the United States) and nuclear weaponry-armed states amongst its ranks. NATO has been involved in many important military interventions of various kinds over the last fifty years; including in Bosnia from 1992 to 1995, in Afghanistan in 2001, and in Libya in 2011.

Topic A: Deterrence of Russian Aggression in NATO’s Eastern Theatre and Reassurance for allies

Topic B: The Kurdish-Turkish Conflict


Meet your chairs

Christine Deng

Hello! I’m Christie, born and raised in New Zealand of Chinese descent. I am currently a 3rd year pursuing BSc. International Relations at the London School of Economics (LSE). Unbeknown to me from my first conference five years ago, MUN would proceed to become an indispensable part of my formative years. Not only did it kick-start my career path, it also allowed me to meet some of the most important people in my life.

In the past year I have attended 5 conferences as a delegate, winning Diplomacy Award at Harvard WorldMUN 2017 and Best Delegate at CambridgeMUN 2016. I’ve also had the privilege of serving as President for LSESU United Nations Society last year. These experiences and much personal development later, I have now moved onto chairing as a way to give back to the activity who has played such a defining role in my life.

Aside from MUN, I enjoy playing classical and contemporary music on the piano, sightseeing at every given opportunity and dancing (please don’t hesitate to break down on the dancefloor!) I am very excited to be working with Lukasz. We sincerely hope we can deliver our best at NATO for you!

Lukasz Gwodz

I am a 1st year law student at Magdalen College at the University of Oxford.

As an international student, I have been engaged with MUN conferences for several years. I have acted as a Chair in a variety of committees, ranging from WTO, to HRC, to Security Council. What makes each MUN conference unique are the ideas that emerge from fruitful discussions, when a clash of different opinions and motivations often gives rise to a consensus.

I look forward to trying to make the world a better place once again, and to welcoming you all in the marvellous town of Oxford.

Close Menu