Mercosur (Southern Common Market) was formed in 1991 by the Treaty of Asuncion as a sub-regional bloc for the promotion of free trade and the free movement of currency, goods, and people. Counting a number of important South American economies within its membership, working groups of the organisation cover topics ranging from agricultural and industrial policy through to discussions around energy and trade tariffs. Given its emergence as something resembling the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) or an early-stage European Union (EU), there are many interesting discussions to be simulated concerning Mercosur’s work, involving both full and associate members of the organisation.

Topic A: Evaluation of the Re-admission of Venezuela into Mercosur (Futuristic topic: Year 2018)

Special thanks to Jonas Rosales and Arantxa Carrillo for the study guide.

Meet your chairs

Mihai Clapaniuc

Allen Haugh

Close Menu