African Union (conducted principally in French).

The African Union (AU) has 14 listed objectives, which are all designed to encourage development in and promote greater integration of the African continent. Although the AU can date its origins back to the foundation of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) in 1963, the current organisation was formed as recently as 2002. Being the continental international union of Africa, the AU is involved in confronting challenges ranging from desertification and famine through to HIV/AIDS and tropical diseases.

Close Menu